Friday was my appointment with my Orthopedic doctor.. It went for the most part ok.. I apparently have the knees of an old person.. They can see some deterioration in the bone which is an indication that I have cartridge wear. They also noticed arthritis in both knees. Some of the damage can be attributed to the additional weight but also some of it is genetics and an auto accident from my teens, where my knee caps met a dashboard. Because of my current symptoms they do not believe I have any soft tissue tears. My choices were either a shot in my knee or I could continue with taking things like Advil or aleve. I chose the shot. Not to scare anyone but this shot HURT.. The nurse tried to prepare me for the shot saying that it's not painful it is nothing cortisone and a numbing agent. Well it hurt.. I am guessing it was because my knee was sooooooo overly inflamed but the moment he stuck the needle in and the whole time he was injecting the solution in all I could think was holy cow this hurts! Initially after all was good, a couple of hours later ie when the numbing agent wore off my knee was done! Couldn't bend it didn't want to move it, I was a little sad. To be fair the doc told me that I may feel discomfort because of the extra liquid in my knee for the next couple of days.. Right now, my knee actually feels pretty good.. It is still kinda stiff but I have one more day for the cortisone to finish absorbing into my body. As far as fitness well I maybe need to look at other options other then running on the treadmill. But this is going to be totally up to this knee.. Next week I will start seeing what my knee likes and what it doesn't.
Knowing that I will not be down due to surgery really has helped calm me down a little. But I am a little nervous about not being able to run.. Later today I am going to look for a good knee brace for when I am working out.. From what I have read this will help A LOT..
I am sooo hoping that I can run.. Because while I have been down nursing this boo boo a friend provided me with some links to an absolutely awesome 5k. Here you check it out!
http://www.runforyourlives.com/
You have to watch that video.. I seriously want to do this next April... It looks like too much fun..
Anyway blog community I am back! Starting Monday I am back on schedule.. Gotta get back at it!

No comments:
Post a Comment